Kenya ICT CS Appoints new Communications Authority Board Members



In February 2016, the Communications Authority Board was sent packing with the process of appointing new members beginning. The board positions fell vacant following withdrawal of an appeal against a High Court decision, in May 2015, that the board be disbanded. The move was however met with resistance from the members who went to Court challenging the action. The former board members sued ICT CS Joe Mucheru as well as the Communications Authority stating that their removal was unprocedural. Over the last one year, the composition of the board has been subject of court battles with suits challenging its legality.

Last week, CA director General Francis Wangusi stated some of the members of CA’s board sought bribes from Airtel in exchange for facilitating a review of licence fees payable to the Authority.  CA said it has evidence showing some of the board members solicited bribes. However, the board members alleged they lost these posts for their insistence that Airtel Kenya pays the license fees.

In a gazette notice dated 4th May 2015, ICT Cabinet Secretary Joe Mucheru has announced the appointment of seven new officials to the CA board.  The new members include include Paul Kikubo, Mugambi Nandi, Levi Obonyo Owino, Christopher Guyo, Patricia Kimama, David Cheruiyot Kitur and Kentice Tikolo to serve for a three year period effective 29th May 2016.


Comments are closed.