Visa Introduces Digital Payments for Kenya Boda Boda Operators

Visa Boda Boda

Visa Boda BodaThe growth of motorcycle transport commonly referred to as Boda Boda has been unprecedented. The popularity of the mode of transport started more than one decade ago, and has practically taken over day to day transport even in the most underdeveloped areas in the country owing to the ability of the riders to navigate challenging topography and bad roads to drop their clients.

In urban centers, Boda Bodas are preferred for their ability to navigate traffic, and are affordable compared to taxi services, especially e-taxi solutions that charge more. The edge Boda Bodas have over their more powered counterparts has forced e-taxi firms launch motorcycle services to complement their offerings as is the case of Little Cab. Others organizations such as SafeBoda solely serve Boda Boda customers.

These are developments that digital payments operations Visa hopes to serve better. According to a deal inked with the Boda Boda Association of Kenya (BAK) and KCB, customers will be able to pay for rides through digital payments.

Payments can be performed via a mobile app or via USSD directly from a customer’s bank account. This will eliminate the need for them to carry cash, among other limitations linked to making cash payments.

The partnership between the three organizations will start with a pilot program that will run for three months with 100 Boda Boda riders. It will be powered by Visa on mobile so that they can receive payments using the product. Visa says the program should push for safe digital payments and financial inclusion among Boda Boda operators.

What is more, the solution will enable operators grow their business while cutting operational costs associated with handling cash. The payment card will allow them have complete control of their money such as trace payments from their customers and withdrawals from their accounts.

Visa on Mobile, which was launched locally several months ago, is also available in Nigeria, Rwanda and Tanzania, Egypt, Ghana, India, and Kazakhstan.