Kenya Government Will Open 10 New Stations for Digital Passport Issuance

4 local centres and 6 international ones

Kenyan epassport

The Kenyan government has opened 10 new Immigration centres in a bid to ease congestion on the issuance of the next generation passports.

In Kenya, they have opened new stations in Nakuru, Embu, Kisii and Eldoret which will benefit people a lot when applying for the next generation passports.

The government has also opened six immigration centres in the diaspora to cater for Kenyans living overseas. They have been opened in Berlin, Paris, London, Washington DC, Dubai and Johannesburg.

According to the Director General of Immigration, Mr Alex Muteshi, the four local centres are operational but will be officially launched next week by the Interior Cabinet Secretary, Dr Fred Matiang’i. “Those in the diaspora will also be opened soon to help Kenyans living there acquire e-passports easily,” Mr Muteshi was quoted as saying.

According to Mr Muteshi, these centres will be serving at least 1,500 applicants daily and will help ease the pressure that we see at their headquarters at Nyayo House, Nairobi. This will benefit greatly the lodes of Kenyans who travel to Nairobi to form long queues at Nyayo House when they apply for the new passports.

eCitzen has made easier to apply for a passport but the congestion at Nyayo House has made it a terrible experience for people that want the passports. The move by the government is more than welcome.

The Kenyan government revealed the new passport in 2017 which includes a chip that holds the biometric information of the passport holder. The move to this next generation passport was to make sure Kenya joins the several countries around the world that use it. The current passport will set to be unusable on September 1st 2019


Comments are closed.