Safaricom Taps National Treasury Executive and Vodacom Director As New Board Members


Winnie Ouko and Christoper Kirigua are the new members of Safaricom’s Board of Directors.

The appointment was made a few days ago.

To this end, Chris Kirigua, who also works as the Director-General of Public Private Partnerships at the National Treasury, will execute his roles as the Alternate Director to the CS, National Treasury and Planning.

Winnie Ouko, on the other hand, will serve as an Independent Non-Executive Director.

Christopher has had an excellent career; he served StanChart for nearly two decades before leaving the private industry. Some of his roles at the lender included Executive Director and Regional Head of Sustainable Finance for the Middle East and Africa.

Mr. Kirigua has also, in the past, served as the co-chairman of the Strategic Committee at the UB Global Investors for Sustainable Development.

Winnie Ouko, who holds a Bachelor’s degree in BCOM from UoN and an MBA from Cornell University, has also held various key positions. She started as Senior Auditor for PwC. She also had a stint in the US as an Associate Director for Standard and Poor’s, and then managed First Africa Capital. Later, she co-founded Lattice Consulting Limited. Her Non-Executive Director roles are currently running for Kenya Pooled Water Fund, Absa Bank Kenya, and Vodacom.

Former Safaricom Board Chair Nicholas Ng’ang’a has since retired from the telco, and succeeded by former CEO Michael Joseph. The company has also been making major management changes in the past couple of months, which you can find here.