ICT Authority Dismisses Prof Fredrick Owino as Board Chair, Picks New Replacement

Sylvanus Maritim with President Ruto

President William Ruto has appointed Sylvanus Maritim as the Non-Executive Board Chair of the ICT Authority.  He replaces Dr. Fredrick Owino, who has been Board Chair at the Authority for an extended period.

The development follows a similar in 2022 when the Authority appointed a new CEO.

On August 8th, 2022, in a notice published in the Kenya Gazette, former ICT CS Joe Mucheru picked Stanley Kamanguya to take over the position that Paul Rono had been temporarily holding for over a year.

“IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred by section 6 (2) (a) of the Information and Communications Technology Order, 2013, as read together with section 51 (1) of the Interpretation and General Provisions Act, I, William Samoei Ruto, President and Commander-in-Chief of the Defence Forces of the Republic of Kenya, appoint SYLVANUS MARITIM to be the Non-Executive Chairperson of the Board of the Information and Communications Technology Authority, for a period of three (3) years, with effect from the 24th February 2023. The appointment of Fredrick Owino (Prof.) is revoked,” read the gazette notice.

The Board of Directors of the Authority is made up of 14 people, including six directors: Fahmo Mohammed, Jerotich Sirma, Stephen Maina, Veronica Thiga, John Kipchumba, and Beatrice Okoth. There are representatives from different sectors such as Edna Atisa from the National Treasury, Chimwaga Mongo from ICT, James Wang’ombe of State Corporations, and John Njogu from Lands and Physical Planning.

The Authority is served by Pauline Kimotho as its Corporation Secretary.

Other state corporations such as the Communications Authority of Kenya have also seen some internal leadership changes over the last few weeks.

The CA, for instance, has a new Board Chairman, Mary Wambui Mungai who took over from Gilbert Kibe. Kibe had only served for a few months before his departure.

The CA further did some Board shakeup following the appointment of new members.

These new members are Bhoke Christine Nchama, Esther Njoki Njoroge, Mgeni Mboto Hassan, Joel Nyambane Okengo, Eric Langat, Alex Wafula Wamalwa, and Nicholas Kamuya Ng’arua.