Underdogs scoop finalists for CNN Multichoice African Journalist Award

CNN MultiChoice African Journalist of the Year 2013

CNN MultiChoice African Journalist of the Year 2013The list of finalists for the CNN Multichoice African Journalist 2013 Competition is finally out with surprising results. The 42 country competition, now in it’s 18th year had it’s finalists announced by Ferial Haffejee who chairs the independent judging panel. The Award Ceremony will be held in Cape Town, South Africa on 12th October 2013 at a Gala evening.

“A tough table of judges was often visibly impressed by the range of stories presented to us. African journalists, as represented by our entries, have risen to the challenge of 2012. The big stories were well-covered. The small stories were not forgotten. We commend the dedication of journalists who are very much part of a rising Africa with rising professionalism, increased appetite for tough and investigative journalism, an eye on those left behind and a deep commitment to telling good stories across many mediums.” said Ferial Haffajee.

Below are the 27 finalists from 11 countries:

  • Gifty Andoh Appiah, Joy News TV, Ghana
  • Rebekah Awuah, GBC 24, Ghana
  • Domingos Bento, Seminário Novo Jornal, Angola
  • Thomas Otieno Bwire, Pamoja FM, Kibera, Kenya
  • Axcel Micael Chenney, Le Défi Média Group, Mauritius
  • Florence Dallu, Freelance for Koch FM, Kenya
  • Nicola de Chaud, Freelance for Carte Blanche, South Africa
  • Adrian de Kock, The Star, South Africa
  • Ibrahima-Benjamin Diagne, Radio Futurs Médias (RFM), Senegal
  • Msindisi Fengu & Yandisa Monakali, Daily Dispatch, South Africa
  • Selma Inocência, Rede de Comunicação Miramar, Mozambique
  • Geoff Iyatse, The Guardian, Nigeria
  • Thanduxolo Jika & Media 24 Investigations Team, Media 24, South Africa
  • Judy Jeptum Kosgei & Mauritius Oduor, Citizen TV, Kenya
  • Lucas Ledwaba, City Press, South Africa
  • Lázaro Mabunda, O País, Mozambique
  • Carol Natukunda, New Vision, Uganda
  • Amon Ngabo, Uganda Broadcasting Corporation, Uganda
  • Tolu Ogunlesi, Freelance for Ventures Africa, Nigeria
  • Oluwatoyosi Ogunseye, Sunday Punch, Nigeria
  • BrendaOkoth, The Star, Kenya
  • Nassima Oulebsir, El Watan, AlgeriaPassant Rabie, Egypt Today, Egypt
  • Roseline Wangui & Wambui Kurema, NTV, Kenya

Kenya scooped 5 of these and it’s clear the underdogs made it huge in the list. Note that the big Media houses like KTN, Nation Newspaper and others are nowhere to be seen while underdogs like Pamoja FM and Koch FM are represented by Thomas Otieno and Florence Dallu respectively. The Star would also be considered a younger media house and is also represented by Brenda Okoth. This is quite  fete considering one would assume the big players in the Media industry would hog all the good storytellers with their deep pockets.

Here is the full release in PDF. [Dropbox]