Telkom Kenya Expands 4G Network Coverage to 28 Towns Across the Country


Telkom Kenya has just announced that it has expanded its 4G network up from 9 towns to 28 towns.

Over the last one year since the change of ownership and management, Telkom has invested Sh.5billion in upgrading and densifying its network. The firm has already unveiled affordable data plans that are expected to energize the use of the new 4G network.

Speaking in Kisumu when he announced the expansion, Telkom’s CEO, Aldo Mareuse says: “In this competitive digital era, Kenyans need a choice of data provider. We are not only guaranteeing that our subscribers across the country will enjoy better quality of service and unbeatable offers, but value for their money.”

Initially, the company announced 4G availability in the following towns: Nairobi, Mombasa, Kisumu, Eldoret, Nakuru, Nyeri, Machakos, Kiambu and Kisii.

The expansion now covers fast growing, tourism-rich and agriculture-rich towns such as:

  • Kitengela
  • Naivasha
  • Kericho
  • Limuru
  • Meru
  • Thika
  • Ngong
  • Embu
  • Nyahururu
  • Narok
  • Kitui
  • Voi
  • Diani
  • Malindi
  • Bungoma
  • Kakamega
  • Kitale
  • Siaya
  • Maseno

Existing and new Telkom subscribers are set to enjoy free 1GB of data to use within the 4G network until July 15, 2017, as long as one meets the following conditions:

  1. Your Phone MUST be 4G capable and using a 4G SIM
  2. You must SUBSCRIBE to 4G4FREE via *544# and select option 1
  3. You must have an ACTIVE internet bundle

To enjoy free WhatsApp, users must meet the following condition:

  1.  Have more than Ksh.1 of airtime
  2. Subscribe to FREE WhatsApp by dialing *544# and select option 2