One of the highly requested features with a focus on privacy is an update on the Last Seen Controls.
The Last Seen status feature currently lets you set your status to be visible with three options – Everyone, My Contacts or Nobody.
The messaging app will soon add a new option that will be hit for most people if not all. You’ll soon be able to set your last seen status to be visible for specific contacts thanks to the recently added option – My Contacts Except.
This option is already available on its ephemeral Status feature.
This feature will come in handy when you only want your close friends or family members to only know when last you were on the app. Other contacts including acquaintances don’t need to know how recent you were on the app.
This feature now extends to other privacy settings as well, such as “profile picture” and “about”.
The new update is rolling out to the iOS and Android beta apps.
It’s worth noting that if you disable your Last Seen from some contacts, you won’t be able to see theirs too.
There’s no clear timeline of when these features should be expected but like tradition, Beta users will get access first before rolling out publicly.
Here’s how to protect your privacy and stay secure on: